Meet the Most Versatile Piece of Clothing You Can Wear This Summer

One vest, three looks.

GIF

If a denim vest isn't at the top of your spring shopping list, look at your life; look at your choices. Then make Armani Exchange's Belted Denim Vest your wardrobe workhorse by putting these three chic, new-take-on-the-nineties outfit combinations on rotation, whether you're feeling crazy, sexy, or cool...

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Crazy: Denim-on-Denim

You've heard of the Canadian Tuxedo (don't admit it if you haven't), but swapping a basic chambray shirt in lieu of this longline number as a tunic with a pair of poppy purple jeans takes the concept to a quirky level we love. When belted and all buttoned up—and topped with funky brogues, bold earrings, and a simple watch—it's just staid enough for Casual Friday at the office (lilac pants and colored lens sunglasses optional.)

Shop the Look

Vita Fede Ultra Mini Titan Stone Bracelet, $375, vitafede.com; Armani Exchange Belted Denim Vest, $180, armaniexchange.com; Armani Exchange Sunglasses, $95, armaniexchange.com; Armani Exchange Moto Super Skinny Jeans, $100, armaniexchange.com; & Other Stories Graphic Earrings, $29, stories.com; Armani Exchange Rose Gold Glam Watch, $160, armaniexchange.com; Sam Edelman Damian Slingback Loafer, $130, samedelman.com; Iro Jess Belt, $240, iroparis.com; Sophie Hulme Nano Wilson Rucksack, $550, sophiehulme.com

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Sexy: As a Skirt

Done with the whole body-con party dress phenomenon? Craft a cheeky cut-out ensemble instead using...three tops! Knot a sleeveless blouse just above the navel; layer a striped menswear-inspired button-down tied across the chest (slid down for a cold-shoulder moment); button a long vest around your waist (yep) and tuck in the top to create a low-slung A-line skirt; slip on understated accessories, like a muted watch and matching reflective frames; document this monumental DIY peek-a-boo achievement in a series of slaying Instagram selfies. 🙌

Shop the Look

Armani Exchange Glitz Rose Gold Watch, $180, armaniexchange.com; Elizabeth and James Keating Striped Shirt, $325, intermixonline.com; Armani Exchange Belted Denim Vest, $180, armaniexchange.com; Armani Exchange Sleeveless Poplin Shirt, $65, armaniexchange.com; Jennifer Fisher Classic Round Hoops, $295, jenniferfisher.com; Armani Exchange Sunglasses, $75, armaniexchange.com; Steve Madden Clearer Heels, $110, stevemadden.com; Eddie Borgo Chet Minaudière, $1490, eddieborgo.com

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Cool: As a Vest

When you cannot be bothered to wear your jean jacket once again, slip on a long denim vest as it's intended and layer it over a classic shift dress for a same-same-but-different effect. Telltale cool-girl accents—e.g., a classic watch, an edgy single earring, mirrored shades, shimmery socks, and trendy slingback loafers—dial any simple look up a few notches, but it's the mini purse-turned-belt bag that'll cement your spot on everyone's Best Dressed (actually, Accessorized) list.

Shop the Look

Avec New York Nova Arch Mobile Earring, $288, avecnewyork.com; Armani Exchange Sunglasses, $95, armaniexchange.com; Armani Exchange Sleek Linen Sheath Dress, $180, armaniexchange.com; Armani Exchange Belted Denim Vest, $180, armaniexchange.com; & Other Stories Shimmery Socks, $12, stories.com; Armani Exchange Rose Gold Glam Watch, $160, armaniexchange.com; Sam Edelman Damian Slingback Loafer, $130, samedelman.com; Rebecca Minkoff Hook Up Small Crossbody, $225, rebeccaminkoff.com













Style Director: India-Jewel Jackson; Art Director: Rebecca Kimmons; Stylist: Aeri Yun; Makeup: Rie Omoto; Hairstylist: Jordan M.

More from Marie Claire: