101 Ideas: Swimwear for Every Woman

A swimsuit (and how you feel in it) is only as great as the shoes, shades, bag, jewelry, jacket, and hat that go with it.

May 25, 2009 12:34 PM
Share
colorful swimwear
K. Prouse/Catwalking/Getty Images
Back Next

Colorful Swimwear

Color Guard
Nix traditional summer floral prints in favor of modern blocks of vivid brights.

DESIGNER: RICHARD NICOLL
colorful swimwear
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Colorful Swimwear

STRONG SUIT:
Strategic symmetry means slimming sophistication.

SWIMSUIT $112, DKNY; bloomingdales.com for stores.
colorful swimwear
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Colorful Swimwear

NEW VINTAGE:
Neon-green enamel updates a classic paste-style necklace.

NECKLACE $350, Givenchy; (800) 578-4552 for stores.
colorful swimwear
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Colorful Swimwear

TOP $85, Shelly Steffee; refinery29shops.com.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Colorful Swimwear

PRACTICAL MAGIC:
So very Hervé Léger—a hot banded skirt does beach days and party nights.

SKIRT $39.90, H&M; hm.com for stores.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Colorful Swimwear

RING $58, Sequin; (212) 398-7373.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Colorful Swimwear

WATCH, Price upon request, TechnoMarine; (800) 822-2312.
Courtesy of Louis Vuitton
Back Next

Colorful Swimwear

SUNGLASSES $560, Louis Vuitton Stephen Sprouse; louisvuitton.com.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Colorful Swimwear

DRESS, Price upon request, Proenza Schouler; saks.com for stores.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Colorful Swimwear

SHOES $15.50, Aerie; aerie.com.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Colorful Swimwear

CARRY ALL:
Zipper pockets keep BlackBerries, iPods, and sunscreen sand-free.

BAG $1095, Tod's; tods.com for stores.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Colorful Swimwear

BIKINI $295, MB Beach Couture by Maria Buccellati; saks.com for stores.

Neutral Swimwear

Sun Tan
Black, white, gold, beige—in neutral style territory, all shades are welcome.

DESIGNER: MARIOS SCHWAB
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Neutral Swimwear

NEARLY NUDE:
The neutral suit is a solid foundation for classic, shiny bangles.

SWIMSUIT $445, Tomas Maier; tomasmaier.com.
Courtesy of Roberto Cavalli
Back Next

Neutral Swimwear

CLUTCH (WITH CUFF) $1025, Roberto Cavalli; robertocavalli.com for stores.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Neutral Swimwear

COMFORT LEVEL:
Espadrilles rule the summer the way ballet flats own spring.

SHOES $79, Talbots; talbots.com.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Neutral Swimwear

TOP $260, Karen Walker; karenwalker.com.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Neutral Swimwear

SUNGLASSES $78, Banana Republic; bananarepublic.com for stores.
Courtesy of David Yurman
Back Next

Neutral Swimwear

BRACELETS Price upon request, David Yurman; davidyurman.com.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Neutral Swimwear

RING $357, Tous; (212) 219-1444.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Neutral Swimwear

SIMPLY CHIC:
Stuffed with groceries or seashells, a leather-handled tote can hold it all.

BAGS $48 & $78, J.Crew; jcrew.com.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Neutral Swimwear

HAT $78, Hat Attack; gumtreela.com.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Neutral Swimwear

NECKLACE $210, Orly Genger by Jaclyn Mayer; jaclynmayer.com.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Neutral Swimwear

WATCH $65, Timex; timexstyle.com.

Jeweled Swimwear

River's Edge
Your jewels of the Nile: tortoiseshell, fine-woven straw, agate, batik print, and linen.

DESIGNER: MARNI
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Jeweled Swimwear

TREASURE CHEST:
An accessorized suit keeps eyes up and away from problem spots.

SWIMSUIT $588, Rosa Cha; neimanmarcus.com.
Courtesy of Sophia Kokosalaki
Back Next

Jeweled Swimwear

SUNGLASSES $340, Sophia Kokosalaki by Linda Farrow; lindafarrow.co.uk.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Jeweled Swimwear

DRESS & BELT $298 & $98, BCBG Max Azria; bcbg.com.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Jeweled Swimwear

BAG $24.99, Gap; gap.com.
Courtesy of Louis Vuitton
Back Next

Jeweled Swimwear

EARRINGS $900, Louis Vuitton; louisvuitton.com.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Jeweled Swimwear

BIKINI $180, Diane von Furstenberg; (702) 818-2294.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Jeweled Swimwear

PAPER-BAG WAIST:
When the shorts are baggy chic, the top gets snug and tucked.

BELT $145, Jenni Kayne; jennikayne.com for similar styles. Shorts $29.90, H&M; hm.com for stores.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Jeweled Swimwear

FAUX REAL:
Cheat the luxe of python by simply faking it.

SHOES $89, Colin Stuart for Victoria's Secret; victoriassecret.com.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Jeweled Swimwear

NECKLACE Price upon request, Gucci; gucci.com for stores.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Jeweled Swimwear

DRESS $188, French Connection; frenchconnection.com for stores.
Ben Goldstein/Studio D
Back Next

Jeweled Swimwear

BAG $39, Loft; anntaylorloft.com.