Celebrities React to the Passing of Queen Elizabeth II

Elton John, Anne Hathaway, and more have taken to social media to mourn the late monarch.

queen elizabeth ii
(Image credit: Sean Gallup/Getty Images)

During her more than seven-decade reign, Queen Elizabeth II established herself not only as a formidable leader and style icon, but as a pop cultural touchstone. Following her death on September 8, at the age of 96, actors, musicians, and celebrities took to social media to mourn the British monarch and celebrate her lasting legacy.

Some, like Anne Hathaway and Dame Helen Mirren, penned heartfelt tributes to Queen Elizabeth while others from Dua Lipa to Mindy Kaling simply shared beautiful and iconic images of the leader from throughout her life to their Instagram Stories. See how they reacted to the tragic news, below.

Duran Duran

A post shared by Duran Duran (@duranduran) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Jennifer Garner

A post shared by Jennifer Garner (@jennifer.garner) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Millie Bobby Brown

A post shared by Millie Bobby Brown (@milliebobbybrown) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Paddington Bear

See more

George Takei

See more

Matthew Lewis

A post shared by Matthew Lewis (@mattdavelewis) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Elton John

See more

Rita Ora

A post shared by RITA ORA (@ritaora) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Melinda French Gates

See more

Mick Jagger

See more

Anne Hathaway

A post shared by Anne Hathaway (@annehathaway) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Sofia Richie

A post shared by Sofia Richie (@sofiarichie) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Lily Collins

A post shared by Lily Collins (@lilyjcollins) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Rosie Huntington-Whiteley

A post shared by Rosie HW (@rosiehw) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Helen Mirren

A post shared by Helen Mirren (@helenmirren) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Ed Sheeran

A post shared by Ed Sheeran (@teddysphotos) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Paul McCartney 

See more

Harry Styles

A post shared by iHeartRadio (@iheartradio) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

David Beckham

A post shared by David Beckham (@davidbeckham) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Paris Hilton

See more

Barbra Streisand

A post shared by Barbra Streisand (@barbrastreisand) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Victoria Beckham

A post shared by Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Marie Claire is committed to celebrating the richness and scope of women's lives. We're known for our award-winning features, thoughtful essays and op-eds, deep commitment to sustainable fashion, and buzzy interviews and reviews. Reaching millions of women every month, MarieClaire.com is an internationally-recognized destination for celebrity news, fashion trends, beauty recommendations, and renowned investigative packages.