How Celebrities Are Paying Tribute to Ruth Bader Ginsburg

"Her rest is earned. It is our turn to fight." —Kerry Washington

supreme court justice ruth bader ginsburg
(Image credit: Nikki Kahn)

Supreme Court justice and lifelong women's rights champion Ruth Bader Ginsburg was an icon to millions. (opens in new tab) And many of her biggest fans were A-listers, who supported her fiercely and are now mourning her death. In the hours after the announcement that Ginsburg had passed away at the age of 87, celebrities took to Twitter and Instagram and released statements to express their gratitude to the feminist icon.

Kerry Washington perhaps put it best: "Her rest is earned. It is our turn to fight."

Barack Obama

A post shared by Barack Obama (@barackobama) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Felicity Jones

"Ruth Bader Ginsburg gave us hope, a public figure who stood for integrity and justice — a responsibility she did not wear lightly. She will be missed not only as a beacon of light in these difficult times but for her razor-sharp wit and extraordinary humanity. She taught us all so much. I will miss her deeply."

Dolly Parton

A post shared by Dolly Parton (@dollyparton) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Jennifer Aniston

jennifer aniston rbg post

(Image credit: Instagram)

Reese Witherspoon

A post shared by Reese Witherspoon (@reesewitherspoon) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Justin Theroux

A post shared by @justintheroux (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Taraji P. Henson

A post shared by taraji p henson (@tarajiphenson) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Jennifer Lopez

A post shared by Jennifer Lopez (@jlo) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Priyanka Chopra

A post shared by Priyanka Chopra Jonas (@priyankachopra) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Brie Larson

A post shared by Brie Larson (@brielarson) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Ava Duvernay

See more

Viola Davis

See more

Kerry Washington

See more

Mindy Kaling

A post shared by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Mark Ruffalo

See more

Jonathan Van Ness

A post shared by Jonathan Van Ness (@jvn) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Lena Dunham

A post shared by Lena Dunham (@lenadunham) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Kelly Ripa

A post shared by Kelly Ripa (@kellyripa) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Mandy Moore

A post shared by Mandy Moore (@mandymooremm) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Connie Britton

A post shared by connie britton (@conniebritton) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Tracee Ellis Ross

A post shared by Tracee Ellis Ross (@traceeellisross) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Cara Delevingne

A post shared by Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Kayleigh Roberts
Weekend Editor

Kayleigh Roberts is a freelance writer and editor with more than 10 years of professional experience. Her byline has appeared in Marie Claire, Cosmopolitan, ELLE, Harper’s Bazaar, The Atlantic, Allure, Entertainment Weekly, MTV, Bustle, Refinery29, Girls’ Life Magazine, Just Jared, and Tiger Beat, among other publications. She's a graduate of the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University.