Karl Lagerfeld Has Died at 85

The sad news comes after a period of ill health for the legendary designer.

Eyewear, Street fashion, Sunglasses, Suit, Yellow, Fashion, Glasses, Cool, Outerwear, Formal wear,
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Legendary designer and fashion icon Karl Lagerfeld, famed as one of the fashion industry's most inspiring and influential directors, has died at the age of 85, French media reports.

Lagerfeld, creative director to Chanel, passed away on Tuesday morning at the American Hospital in Paris, having been admitted just the day before, according to French fashion website Pure People (opens in new tab). The sad news and huge loss for the fashion industry follows weeks of ill health for the prolific design figure.

Earlier in the year, Lagerfeld unusually missed Chanel’s Haute Couture spring/summer 2019 show, with his absence explained by a statement that read: "Mr Lagerfeld, artistic director of Chanel, who was feeling tired, asked Virginie Viard, director of the creative studio of the house, to represent him.” The brand later said: “We wish Mr Lagerfeld to recover quickly."

It was the first time he had missed his iconic catwalk bow during the finale of a Chanel show since taking on his role as creative director in 1983.

With an unrivaled career that spanned over seven decades and shaped the industry, Lagerfeld first began his journey into the world of luxury fashion as an assistant to Pierre Balmain back in 1955. He went on to create collections for Fendi, as well as Chanel and his own signature label.

The house of Chanel and celebrity tributes have already begun to pour in for Lagerfeld across both Twitter and Instagram, with the likes of Victoria Beckham, Donatella Versace, Alexa Chung, and Diane Kruger paying their respects.

A post shared by CHANEL (@chanelofficial) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Donatella Versace (@donatella_versace) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Text, Black, Font, Darkness,

(Image credit: Instagram)

Butterfly, Insect, Moths and butterflies, Invertebrate, Pollinator, Brush-footed butterfly, Organism, Wing, Moth, Pieridae,

(Image credit: Instagram)

A post shared by Alexa Chung (@alexachung) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more

A post shared by Diane Kruger (@dianekruger) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Irina (@irina_lazareanu) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Queen of MySpace (@lilyallen) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Eva Chen (@evachen212) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Grace Elizabeth ♡ (@lovegrace_e) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more

A post shared by MIKA (@mikainstagram) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more

A post shared by David Beckham (@davidbeckham) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

More to come...

Lucy Wood spends most of her time writing about celebrity news, reading books, and waiting for the glorious day that she have enough millions for a pet sloth. She also has a YouTube channel on the go where she pretends to know things about fashion and life advice.