Celebrities React to Joe Biden and Kamala Harris Winning the 2020 Election

Ariana Grande, Padma Lakshmi, John Legend and more are celebrating on social media.

Joe Biden and Kamala Harris
(Image credit: Drew Angerer)

Celebrities have been a big part of the 2020 election, with many influential A-listers acting as surrogates for the Democratic ticket and urging their fanbase (opens in new tab) to vote for Joe Biden and Kamala Harris. So when the pair were confirmed as the President and Vice President-Elect on November 7, celebrities took to social media to celebrate the big win, commend Biden and Harris for their work, and share hopeful messages about the days ahead.

Several big names like Jordan Peele and Padma Lakshmi penned funny takes about Donald Trump being fired while others like Lizzo and Rihanna looked to the work that still has to be done. Meanwhile Reese Witherspoon, Ariana Grande, and Bella Hadid shared messages of relief and excitement about Biden and Harris's win.

"@JoeBiden @KamalaHarris and the American people, you just gave the world one of the greatest acts of kindness and bravery humanity has ever seen. nothing but love for our new Commander in Chief and the 1ST female VP elected to the White House," Gaga wrote on Twitter.

See more celebrity reactions to Joe Biden and Kamala Harris win below.

A post shared by Beyoncé (@beyonce) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Gwyneth Paltrow (@gwynethpaltrow) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Jennifer Lopez (@jlo) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more
See more

A post shared by Priyanka Chopra Jonas (@priyankachopra) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Lili Reinhart (@lilireinhart) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Karlie Kloss (@karliekloss) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more
See more
See more

A post shared by Barack Obama (@barackobama) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more
See more

A post shared by VIOLA DAVIS (@violadavis) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Demi Lovato (@ddlovato) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Sarah Michelle (@sarahmgellar) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more

A post shared by Ashley Tisdale (@ashleytisdale) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more

A post shared by Julia Louis-Dreyfus (@officialjld) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more

A post shared by Lizzo (@lizzobeeating) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more

A post shared by Hillary Clinton (@hillaryclinton) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more
See more
See more

A post shared by @amyschumer (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Katie Holmes (@katieholmes) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Kate Hudson (@katehudson) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more

A post shared by Sarah Hyland (@sarahhyland) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Jameela Jamil (@jameelajamilofficial) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more
See more

A post shared by LeBron James (@kingjames) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more
See more
See more

A post shared by Jonathan Van Ness (@jvn) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Related Stories

Biden and Harris

(Image credit: Marie Claire)

Kamala Harris

(Image credit: Marie Claire)

As Marie Claire’s Entertainment Director, Neha oversees and executes strategy for all editorial talent bookings and culture coverage across the brand's print and digital entities, including covers, celebrity profiles and features, social takeovers, and video franchises as well as handles talent relations for our flagship summit, Power Trip. She's passionate about elevating diverse voices and stories, loves a hot-take, and hates TV reboots. Her bylines have appeared on Glamour, Vanity Fair, GQ, Allure, Teen Vogue, Brides, and Architectural Digest, and she is a graduate of the Columbia School of Journalism.