Reese Witherspoon Kicked Off a Viral Meme Trend on Instagram

Mindy Kaling and Kerry Washington also chimed in, cause, duh.

Reese Witherspoon
(Image credit: Courtesy)

Not to sound like a broken record or anything, but this year, good old' 2020, has been a doozy thanks to a series of unfortunate events I could indeed write a 500-page novel on. I mean, nothing good has happened since Parasite won Best Picture at the 92nd Academy Awards (opens in new tab) in February. Thankfully, the internet is always filled with funny, all-too-relatable content—like the recent "2020 by month" meme challenge, started by Reese Witherspoon herself.

How the Meme Started

Dubbed by some as the "Reese Witherspoon Challenge," since she was the first A-lister to kick off the trend, the new meme features a collage of photos of different characters a celebrity has played over the years matching a different month in 2020. Here Witherspoon served us looks from Legally BlondeLittle Fires Everywhere (opens in new tab)Wild, and more. 

A post shared by Reese Witherspoon (@reesewitherspoon) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Other Celebrities Obviously Had to Join

Since she posted the all-too-true funny post on Instagram, the love of my life, Mindy Kaling (opens in new tab), has also added her take to the challenge. She captioned her photo, “Pretty much. Inspired by @reesewitherspoon.” As well as another actress and a woman I inspire to be, Kerry Washington (opens in new tab), hopped on the trend too captioning her's, "@reesewitherspoon @mindykaling...SAME."

A post shared by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Kerry Washington (@kerrywashington) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

And because some of the biggest names in Hollywood, started doing it well, everyone is because uh...duh. Witherspoon hasn't commented on starting the trend, but like us, she's probably laughing at all the celebs, models, TV shows, and movies giving us an accurate look into month ?? of quarantine. Here are some of our favorites:

A post shared by Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more

A post shared by E! News (@enews) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by no context don draper (@nocontextdondraper) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more

A post shared by TODAY (@todayshow) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more

A post shared by Hulu (@hulu) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

See more
See more
See more
See more
See more

A post shared by Kate Beckinsale (@katebeckinsale) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Jennifer Garner (@jennifer.garner) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Elizabeth Banks (@elizabethbanks) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Jessica Chastain (@jessicachastain) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Rachel Brosnahan (@rachelbrosnahan) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Be sure to check back in later, because I'm sure some more will be rolling in today.

Related Stories

Challenge Accepted Trend

(Image credit: Marie Claire)

Tik Tok Dance Challenge

(Image credit: Marie Claire)
Bianca Rodriguez
Bianca Rodriguez

Bianca Rodriguez is the Fashion & Luxury Commerce Manager at Hearst Magazines, covering fashion, beauty, and more for Cosmopolitan, Elle, Esquire, Harper’s BAZAAR, and Town & Country. She likes lounging about with a good book and thinks a closet without platform sneakers is a travesty.