The Best Celebrity Instagrams from the Met Gala 2017

From masking selfies to hair and makeup transformations.

More From Met Gala 2017
20 articles
Met Gala Donors "Insulted" Celebs Smoked
A Naked Man in a Glass Box Crashed the Met Gala
A Comprehensive Timeline of Met Gala Dresses

It takes a small village to prepare someone for the fashion extravaganza that is the Met Gala, which is why it's almost (almost) as entertaining to see celebrities getting dolled up before the event, pre-gaming with their friends, and waiting in the limo before they hit the red carpet. Below, see the best celebrity Instagrams from before the red carpet and at the event itself.

1. Kate Bosworth

Hair salon or Comme des Garçons??? 😝😝😝 #MET

A post shared by Kate Bosworth (@katebosworth) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

I'd recognize that tattoo anywhere... @patidubroff ❤️😘 #metprep

A post shared by Kate Bosworth (@katebosworth) on

More From Met Gala 2017
20 articles
Met Gala Donors "Insulted" Celebs Smoked
A Naked Man in a Glass Box Crashed the Met Gala
A Comprehensive Timeline of Met Gala Dresses
Everyone at the Met Gala Smoked in the Bathroom
Ryan Reynolds on Why He Loves Blake

Step 2 🐣 @bridgetbragerhair #metprep

A post shared by Kate Bosworth (@katebosworth) on

2. Selena Gomez

Because it should be fun and truly authentic @stuartvevers my @coach crew 💕

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

3. Halle Berry

Calm before the Met. #MetGala

A post shared by Halle Berry (@halleberry) on

4. Blake Lively

Met dress preview. 😳😁

A post shared by Blake Lively (@blakelively) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

5. Gwyneth Paltrow

Bit of spackle and paint with my Dream Team @blakeerik #emmalovell #metball

A post shared by Gwyneth Paltrow (@gwynethpaltrow) on

Most Popular

6. Miranda Kerr

Pre-Met multitasking with @balletbeautiful & my @koraorganics Hydrating Mask 😘

A post shared by Miranda (@mirandakerr) on

7. Fei Fei Sun

Getting ready for #metgala2017 ❤❤💄💄💅🏼💅🏼💋💋💃🏻💃🏻💃🏻

A post shared by FeiFei Sun☀️孙菲菲 (@feifeisun) on

8. Kate Hudson

Golden Slumbers #Fashion #MetBall2017 🥂

A post shared by Kate Hudson (@katehudson) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Gearing up for Met Ball 🙆 #MetBall2017 #CommeDesGarcons

A post shared by Kate Hudson (@katehudson) on

9. Eva Chen

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Most Popular

10. Gisele

Ready! 💃🏼 Pronta!

A post shared by Gisele Bündchen (@gisele) on

❤️

A post shared by Gisele Bündchen (@gisele) on

11. Taylor Hill

Prepping for the #MetGala2017 ✨💕 happy May 1st 🌸

A post shared by Taylor Hill (@taylor_hill) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

12. Lena Dunham

Met ready

A post shared by Lena Dunham (@lenadunham) on

13. Doutzen Kroes

Excited for tonight's #metgala 🤗 #metkawakubo

A post shared by Doutzen Kroes (@doutzen) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

14. Joan Smalls

Shadow Pallet Of The Night For @joansmalls MET Gala Look @esteelauder #EsteePartner #LipstickEnvy

A post shared by Patrick Ta (@patrickta) on

Most Popular

15. Yolanda Hadid

16. Karen Elson

What would the Met Ball be without spending a little time with the absolutely lovely @lilyaldridge

A post shared by Karen Elson (@misskarenelson) on

Lovely in Lanvin @lanvinofficial

A post shared by Karen Elson (@misskarenelson) on

Dressing up! @metcostumeinstitute

A post shared by Karen Elson (@misskarenelson) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

17. Lara Stone

#metballin with the most wonderful @christopherkane 😍#metball2017

A post shared by Lara Stone (@lara_stone) on

18. Kristin Cavallari

#MetGala hair on point thanks to @owengould !! I'll be on E! tonight talk all things fashion tonight 🙌🏻

A post shared by Kristin Cavallari (@kristincavallari) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

19. Kerry Washington

Most Popular

20. Mindy Kaling

Having too much fun at my #metgala dress fitting 🌟💃🏾🌟 can I wear this forever? #representing

A post shared by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling) on

In case you're wondering who's dressing me...👀💖✨ @prabalgurung @edie_parker

A post shared by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling) on

21. Solange

going ice skating with @thombrowneny , brb ⛸⛸

A post shared by Solange (@saintrecords) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

22. Karlie Kloss

#MetGala Monday 🌱✨

A post shared by Karlie Kloss (@karliekloss) on

23. Adriana Lima

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

24. Elizabeth Banks

pre #metgala dance party 🎉 and preview.

A post shared by Elizabeth Banks (@elizabethbanks) on

Most Popular

25. Madonna

Almost There! 💃🏻💃🏻💃🏻💃🏻♥️

A post shared by Madonna (@madonna) on

26. Liu Wen

27. Evan Rachel Wood

We're on our way up!!! Guess who? #METGALA #maseratimoment

A post shared by ALTUZARRA (@altuzarra) on

Follow Marie Claire on Facebook for the latest news, fascinating reads, video, and more.

More from Marie Claire: