The Best Celebrity Instagrams from the Met Gala 2017

From masking selfies to hair and makeup transformations.

Instagram

It takes a small village to prepare someone for the fashion extravaganza that is the Met Gala, which is why it's almost (almost) as entertaining to see celebrities getting dolled up before the event, pre-gaming with their friends, and waiting in the limo before they hit the red carpet. Below, see the best celebrity Instagrams from before the red carpet and at the event itself.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

1. Kate Bosworth

Hair salon or Comme des Garçons??? 😝😝😝 #MET

A post shared by Kate Bosworth (@katebosworth) on

I'd recognize that tattoo anywhere... @patidubroff ❀️😘 #metprep

A post shared by Kate Bosworth (@katebosworth) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Step 2 🐣 @bridgetbragerhair #metprep

A post shared by Kate Bosworth (@katebosworth) on

2. Selena Gomez

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

3. Halle Berry

Calm before the Met. #MetGala

A post shared by Halle Berry (@halleberry) on

4. Blake Lively

Met dress preview. 😳😁

A post shared by Blake Lively (@blakelively) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

5. Gwyneth Paltrow

Bit of spackle and paint with my Dream Team @blakeerik #emmalovell #metball

A post shared by Gwyneth Paltrow (@gwynethpaltrow) on

6. Miranda Kerr

Pre-Met multitasking with @balletbeautiful & my @koraorganics Hydrating Mask 😘

A post shared by Miranda (@mirandakerr) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

7. Fei Fei Sun

8. Kate Hudson

Golden Slumbers #Fashion #MetBall2017 πŸ₯‚

A post shared by Kate Hudson (@katehudson) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Gearing up for Met Ball πŸ™† #MetBall2017 #CommeDesGarcons

A post shared by Kate Hudson (@katehudson) on

9. Eva Chen

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

10. Gisele

Ready! πŸ’ƒπŸΌ Pronta!

A post shared by Gisele BΓΌndchen (@gisele) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

❀️

A post shared by Gisele BΓΌndchen (@gisele) on

11. Taylor Hill

Prepping for the #MetGala2017 βœ¨πŸ’• happy May 1st 🌸

A post shared by Taylor Hill (@taylor_hill) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

12. Lena Dunham

Met ready

A post shared by Lena Dunham (@lenadunham) on

13. Doutzen Kroes

Excited for tonight's #metgala πŸ€— #metkawakubo

A post shared by Doutzen Kroes (@doutzen) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

14. Joan Smalls

15. Yolanda Hadid

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

16. Karen Elson

Lovely in Lanvin @lanvinofficial

A post shared by Karen Elson (@misskarenelson) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Dressing up! @metcostumeinstitute

A post shared by Karen Elson (@misskarenelson) on

17. Lara Stone

#metballin with the most wonderful @christopherkane 😍#metball2017

A post shared by Lara Stone (@lara_stone) on

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

18. Kristin Cavallari

19. Kerry Washington

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

20. Mindy Kaling

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

21. Solange

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

22. Karlie Kloss

#MetGala Monday 🌱✨

A post shared by Karlie Kloss (@karliekloss) on

23. Adriana Lima

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

24. Elizabeth Banks

pre #metgala dance party πŸŽ‰ and preview.

A post shared by Elizabeth Banks (@elizabethbanks) on

25. Madonna

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

26. Liu Wen

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

27. Evan Rachel Wood

We're on our way up!!! Guess who? #METGALA #maseratimoment

A post shared by ALTUZARRA (@altuzarra) on

Follow Marie Claire on Facebook for the latest news, fascinating reads, video, and more.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below