The Best Celebrity Instagrams from the Met Gala 2017

From masking selfies to hair and makeup transformations.

It takes a small village to prepare someone for the fashion extravaganza (opens in new tab) that is the Met Gala (opens in new tab), which is why it's almost (almost) as entertaining to see celebrities getting dolled up before the event, pre-gaming with their friends, and waiting in the limo before they hit the red carpet (opens in new tab). Below, see the best celebrity Instagrams from before the red carpet and at the event itself.

A post shared by Kate Bosworth (@katebosworth) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Kate Bosworth (@katebosworth) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Kate Bosworth (@katebosworth) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

2. Selena Gomez

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

3. Halle Berry

A post shared by Halle Berry (@halleberry) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

4. Blake Lively

5. Gwyneth Paltrow

A post shared by Gwyneth Paltrow (@gwynethpaltrow) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

6. Miranda Kerr

A post shared by Miranda (@mirandakerr) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

7. Fei Fei Sun

8. Kate Hudson

A post shared by Kate Hudson (@katehudson) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Kate Hudson (@katehudson) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

9. Eva Chen

A post shared by Eva Chen (@evachen212) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Eva Chen (@evachen212) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

10. Gisele

A post shared by Gisele Bündchen (@gisele) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Gisele Bündchen (@gisele) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

11. Taylor Hill

A post shared by Taylor Hill (@taylor_hill) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

12. Lena Dunham

A post shared by Lena Dunham (@lenadunham) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

13. Doutzen Kroes

A post shared by Doutzen Kroes (@doutzen) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

14. Joan Smalls

A post shared by Makeup Artist Patrick Ta (@patrickta) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

15. Yolanda Hadid

16. Karen Elson

A post shared by Karen Elson (@misskarenelson) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Karen Elson (@misskarenelson) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Karen Elson (@misskarenelson) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

17. Lara Stone

A post shared by Lara Stone (@lara_stone) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

18. Kristin Cavallari

A post shared by Kristin Cavallari (@kristincavallari) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

19. Kerry Washington

20. Mindy Kaling

A post shared by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

21. Solange

22. Karlie Kloss

A post shared by Karlie Kloss (@karliekloss) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

23. Adriana Lima

A post shared by Adriana Lima BR ⚡ (@mylifeadrii) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

24. Elizabeth Banks

A post shared by Elizabeth Banks (@elizabethbanks) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

25. Madonna

A post shared by Madonna (@madonna) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

A post shared by Madonna (@madonna) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

26. Liu Wen

A post shared by Liu Wen 刘雯 (@liuwenlw) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

27. Evan Rachel Wood

A post shared by ALTUZARRA (@altuzarra) (opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

Follow Marie Claire on Facebook (opens in new tab) for the latest news, fascinating reads, video, and more.